EXPERIENCE

Educating the mind without educating the heart

is no education at all.

ARISTOTLE

Residential Life

Residential Life

At LYBS, we believe that a great education should be experienced to the full and fullness is what a boarding education offers. Full boarding may be a tradition, but in reality, at LYBS, it is a way of life. Our students have the choice to receive more than an excellent academic training. Understanding, encouragement and individual attention are just as important. Life at LYBS is also focused on individuals developing the confidence to contribute to a close-knit community. Communal living provides boarders with a highly sociable and connected environment, while retaining a private, supervised space for individual study. Providing a comfortable home like environment is essential if students are to make the most of the unique education we offer. They eat in the campus canteens each mealtime, talk with their friends and teachers, study with their classmates and enjoy the leafy campus. Inevitably, students develop patience, understanding and a good sense of humour and as a result, independence and team spirit develop naturally. For more information, click here.

Residential.jpg

Pastoral Care

Pastoral Care

Taking care of our community is of primary importance and we treat each individual, and especially our students with dignity and respect. Our pastoral care team including security, transportation and cleaning services, keep in close contact with each other, under the coordination and supervision of our Operations Department, to account for every soul on campus and beyond. This provides a complete picture especially of a student’s welfare and enables quick responses to any problems should they arise. On top of that, our counsellors, resident health practioners ensure that all our students and staff are healthy both socially, emotionally, as well as physically, according to the strictest regulations issued by the relevant authorities. In addition, our catering facilities operate with state-of-the-art equipment and under the highest hygiene requirements and specifications that are inspected multiple times daily. The result is a highly experienced network that provides practical, timely support - as well as students and staff who feel comfortable and confident throughout their time at the school. More specifically, your student’s Homeroom teacher is always available to support the whole family and is the point person that liaises between families and the school. This is the caring, close-knit community culture we develop at LYBS, one that encourages a sense of belonging and an appreciation for individual perspectives and interests. You can find our canteen menu here.

Pastrol.jpg

Sports

Sports

Sport brings challenge, and a vital balance to academic life. At LYBS students can participate in a wide range of sporting opportunities. Our principal aim is to develop the interest and enthusiasm of each student for physical activity and then encourage them to participate regularly during their time at the school. There is an open invitation to all students to make best use of the facilities and the opportunities put before them, either at a recreational level or as part of a more structured competitive sports programme. We hope that this exposure will encourage pupils to continue with regular physical activity in later life. Our coaching staff consists of highly trained and experienced professionals whose expertise and enthusiasm readies students for the challenges of the future. With a wide variety of sports related experiences to choose from, whether part of the PHE curriculum or an elective activity, there is something for every student at LYBS. Such opportunities include but are not limited to basketball, football, baseball, golf, volleyball, fencing, kendo, hockey, swimming, horse riding, canoeing, hiking, gymnastics, badminton, tennis, taekwondo, boxing, to mention but a few. They allow students to explore and pursue excellence in their chosen specialisms, leading to a deeper appreciation and a long-term enjoyment of sport, as well as a balanced way of living.

Arts

Arts

Involvement in the arts is associated with gains in mathematics, reading, cognitive ability, critical thinking, and verbal skill. Arts learning can also improve motivation, concentration, confidence, and teamwork. The intrinsic values of the art experience do more than brighten an individual's life, they can connect people more deeply to the world and open them to new ways of seeing, creating the foundation to forge social bonds and community cohesion. Our arts programme here at LYBS helps our students be happier and healthier and equips them with essential strengths. Through studying the arts, our young minds co-operate with each other, think, question and collaborate; they learn teamwork, independence and leadership. The programme provides students with a creative outlet to explore and express their emotions, affording them ways of coping with life’s challenges by for example reducing stress, building resilience, raising self-esteem and developing social skills. Music, plays, dance, literature, visual arts at LYBS act as anchors for our students’ existence as they experience an education that offers them the whole of life and culture: head, heart and soul.

Amazing House

Amazing House

After School Activities (ASAs) provision at LYBS is exceptional and forms an essential part of the way in which we seek to develop and strengthen our mission, vision and values. There is a strong emphasis on broad participation, but we are also uniquely well-resourced to cater for the very best. Our Amazing House boasts an extraordinary array of clubs and societies, which cater for every interest. Great effort is made to exploit our location and the ease with which places of interest can be visited is truly unique. All Amazing House activities, clubs and societies, are developed and reviewed on the creativity, activity and service framework of the International Baccalaureate programmes, with clearly defined learning outcomes, within which participants can find like minds and fresh challenges. Quite a few are founded and run by the students themselves. Whether broadening or intensifying their interests, LYBS students can take part in a busy and stimulating range of experiences that enriches their studies and their school life throughout the year. Such activities include but are not limited to playing various musical instruments, practicing a variety of dancing styles, singing in the choir, pottery-making, designing clothes, painting, sketching, paper-cutting, learning modern foreign languages, reciting, playing chess, calligraphy, creative writing, robotics, TEDex, public speaking, Mathematics Olympiads, business competitions, school newspaper, and many others. We actively encourage students to participate in as many Amazing House activities as they feel able to manage. Many even take on responsibilities within these groups and gain much useful experience in learning how to organise and run them. They make lasting friendships and enjoy taking part.

AMAZING.jpg

体验

只教育头脑而不教育心灵,

那根本不是教育。

亚里士多德

寄宿生活

寄宿生活

在燎原双语学校,我们认为,良好的教育应该是完整的体验,而这正是寄宿教育所能实现的。学生寄宿由来已久,但在燎原双语学校,这却意味着一种生活方式。我们理解和鼓励学生,关注个体成长,并注重引导学生树立自信心。集体生活为寄宿生提供了一个与同龄伙伴密切联系和社交的环境,同时也为学生提供人员督导下的专属学习空间。营造家一般的温馨环境很重要,这样有助于学生的学习。他们在学校食堂用餐、与朋友老师交流、和同学一起学习,并享受树木繁茂的优美校园环境,自然而然地,就会逐渐具有耐心、同理心和幽默感,变得更加独立,具有团队合作精神。

Residential.jpg

学生关怀

学生关怀

经营好学校这个大集体是我们的首要工作。我们尊重每一个体,尤其我校学生。我们的运营部下设的学生支持经营好学校这个大集体是我们的首要工作。我们尊重每一个个体,尤其是在校学生。运营部下设的后勤服务团队,包括安保团队、校车团队和保洁团队,他们彼此之间保持密切联系,为我校学生和工作人员提供优质服务,确保在任何情况下能够快速采取应对措施。心理辅导老师、校医和护士会根据有关部门颁布的严格规定确保所有学生和工作人员的身心健康。 餐饮设施采用最先进设备,并严格遵守最高卫生要求,每天都要经过多次检查。如今,燎原双语学校已形成一个高度成熟的后勤保障制度,为学生和工作人员在校期间营造舒适的工作学习环境。这就是燎原双语学校所营造充满关怀、归属感和尊重每一个人的看法和兴趣的校园人文环境。请点击这里查看每周更新的餐厅菜单。

Pastrol.jpg

体育运动

体育运动

运动带来挑战,但是也能很好的调剂学习。在燎原双语学校,我们开设运动课程的主要目的在于培养每位学生对体育活动的热爱,鼓励学生在校期间多参加运动。我们号召所有学生充分利用学校提供的运动设施和机会,通过运动放松身心,并参加体育竞赛项目,从而培养学生经常运动的习惯。我们的运动教练都是训练有素且经验丰富的专业人士,他们为所有学生提供专业指导,帮助学生做好应对未来挑战的准备。无论体育课还是选修活动,我们均提供种类丰富的运动课程供学生选择。目前的运动课程包括但不限于篮球、足球、棒球、高尔夫球、排球、击剑、剑道、曲棍球、游泳、骑马、皮划艇、徒步旅行、体操、羽毛球、网球、跆拳道和拳击。学生可以不断探索对运动项目的兴趣,进而发自内心爱上运动,长久享受运动带来的乐趣,并且将运动作为平衡课余生活的方式。

艺术

艺术

接受艺术熏陶的人往往会在数学、阅读、认知能力、理性思考和语言技巧方面受益良多。学习艺术同时也能够提高学生的积极性、专注力、自信心以及团队协作能力。艺术体验的内在价值远不止丰富个人的生活,它还能够让人与世界产生更加紧密的关联,让人发现看待事物的新视角,产生新的社会纽带和社区凝聚力。在燎原双语学校,我们的艺术课程帮助学生变得更加快乐和健康,并且发掘自身特长。通过艺术学习,学生不仅学会与他人协作,学会思考、质疑和配合他人,也学会独立完成和团队协作;不仅学会以创新方法分析和表达自己的情感,也学会以不同的方式应对生活的挑战,如减压、培养坚韧品质、树立自信心和掌握社交技能等。我们通过音乐、戏剧、舞蹈、文学和视觉艺术等艺术课程为学生营造滋养身心的生活和文化氛围。

非常学堂

非常学堂

燎原双语学校开设的丰富多彩的课后延时课,是燎原教育生态的重要组成部分。我们鼓励广泛参与,同时提供独家资源以保证提供最高品质的课程。非常学堂下设多个俱乐部和学生社团,让每位学生能找到自己感兴趣的项目。非常学堂的所有活动、俱乐部和社团都是根据IB的CAS(创造、活动与服务)的理念框架所制定,有明确的学习成果为依据,学生可以找到志同道合的伙伴和接受新的挑战,其中部分社团是由学生自己自发组建和运营管理的。无论是拓宽还是加强自己的兴趣,LYBS的学生都可以通过参加一系列繁忙而刺激的体验活动,丰富自己的学习和学校生活。非常学堂课程百余种,包括但不限于演奏各种乐器、练习各种风格的舞蹈、合唱团、陶艺制作、服装设计、绘画、素描、剪纸、学习现代外语、朗诵、下棋、书法、创意写作、机器人、TEDex、公开演讲、数学奥林匹克竞赛、商业竞赛、校报等。我们积极鼓励学生在自己的能力范围内尽可能多地参加非常学堂的课后活动,并通过参与活动学会承担集体责任、积累组织和管理经验。久而久之,学生与学生之间建立长久友谊,享受参与的乐趣。

AMAZING.jpg